AAP becomes national party:
what could be its journey ahead?

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao is the current Chief Minister of Telangana since 2014.
He is also the founder and leader of a state party titled the Bharat Rashtra Samithi.


Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao (KCR) is first and current Chief Minister of Telangana. He came into the power after the Telangana state got separated from Andhra Pradesh. He is the leader and president of regional political party Telangana Rashtra Samithi. He is an MLA from the Gajwel constituency of Siddipet District. Previously, he served as the MLA of Andhra Pradesh from Siddipet and MP from Mahbubnagar, Karimnagar and Medak. After the completion of MA in Literature from Osmania University, Hyderabad, he entered in Politics with Youth Congress. During that period Congress was in a bad position but he stood with Sanjay Gandhi and retained the presence. In 1983 he joined TDP and then in 2001, he resigned from TDP and stood for the people with the demand of the separate state. He believed that a separate state is the only solution. In 2001, he formed the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) Party. In August 2006, he resigned from the Union Cabinet for the cause of Telangana and sat on Hunger Strike at Jantar Mantar in New Delhi. Went on a Hunger Strike again on 29 November 2009 which he withdrew on 9 December 2009 following the announcement by the Govt. of India that the process for formation of a separate State of Telangana would be initiated.

Personal Life

Full Name
Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao
Date of Birth
17 Feb 1954 (Age 68)
Place of Birth
Siddipeta, Telangana
Party name
Telangana Rashtra Samithi
Father's Name
Raghavar Rao
Mother's Name
Spouse's Name
1 Son(s) 1 Daughter(s)

Political Timeline of Kalvakuntla Chandrashekar Rao

KCR announced the formation of a new political party: Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS), at Jaladrushyam in Hyderabad. (KCR resigned as the Deputy Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly, TDP MLA, and for Telugu Desam Party membership)
The TRS party was formed by KCR and held its first public meeting, 'Simha Garjana,' at Karimnagar. It was a grand success, with a public attendance of 2.5 lakhs. After that, KCR won Siddipet Assembly By-Election with a massive majority of 58,712 votes.
KCR's Party Contested Assembly and General Elections in alliance with Congress (TRS won 26 Assembly & 5 Parliament seats)
TRS joined the UPA Coalition in State Government and got 6 ministries.
PM Manmohan Singh, in his press meeting at Vigyan Bhavan, said UPA Government is committed to forming Telangana State. KCR ran the Whole Movement for the formation of Telangana State.
KCR started fast on to death. At about 9.00 a.m., he was arrested by greyhound police officers at Algunoor village of Karimnagar district. He was taken to Khammam and produced before the Magistrate (MM) by the police. The Magistrate ordered judicial custody for 14 days. And KCR was kept in Khammam district jail. He started his indefinite fast (fast unto death) on 29-11-2009. A total shutdown was observed in the Telangana region in protest against the arrest of KCR.
After years of struggle by KCR and his Party workers, the Group of Ministers cleared Andhra Pradesh's State Re-organisation bill after making a few amendments based on the inputs from the state assembly.
TRS party secures a majority in the assembly elections by bagging 63 out of the 119 seats in Telangana.
K. Chandrashekhar Rao was elected as leader of the TRS legislature party.
TRS Party founder and Chief founder of the separate Telangana agitation, KCR, was sworn in as the first CM of the newly created State of Telangana. The 11 cabinet ministers who were sworn in: were Dr. Rajaiah, Mohammed Mahmood Ali, and KT Rama Rao. T Harish Rao, N. Narsimha Reddy, P. Srinivas Reddy, Eatela Rajendar, T. Padma Rao, Jogu Ramanna, P. Mahender Reddy, and Jagadish Reddy.
TRS Party Won 88 seats out of 119 in Telangana Assembly Elections. Sri K Chandrashekar Rao took oath as Chief Minister of Telangana State for a 2nd consecutive term.
Lok Sabha Polls: TRS Party won 9 Lok Sabha Seats, and in its State Local Elections, TRS Party won 372 out of 534 ZPTC Seats, 3556 out of 5816 MPTC Seats, and won all 32 ZP Chairperson positions.
K Chandrasekhar Rao inaugurated the office of his renamed Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) party in Delhi on Wednesday (14 December) to materialize a more prominent role and work towards being a National Party.